Ochakovsky Memorial Tourney

By Constable Ahmar Khan,
Toronto Police Service
Published: 10:29 a.m. May 23, 2014

A team representing Toronto Police Service participated in the fifth annual Constable James Ochakovsky Memorial Soccer Tournament hosted by Peel Regional Police.

A man dribbles a soccer ball as an opposing team member runs toward him
Players compete at the tournament
  • A man dribbles a soccer ball as an opposing team member runs toward him
  • A long line of people, some in Peel Police uniform, beside easels holding a plaque, letter and poster
  • A framed letter and plaque with a man in Peel Police uniform

The charity tournament is a conduit to bring together emergency services personnel in a social, yet competitive setting and raise funds for the Trillium Gift of Life Network  and Sick Kids Foundation 

Artem “James” Ochakovsky, 36, tragically died in hospital on March 2, 2010, a day after his police vehicle collided with a car and struck a pole as he responded to a radio call for an officer requiring assistance.

On hand for a memorial ceremony before the tournament were Erin Ochakovsky and James’ nine-year-old son, Owen. He was surrounded by Peel colleagues and Peel Police acting Chief Dan McDonald. The tournament raised $2,000 to benefit both charities. In the past five years, the tournament has raised close to $18,000.

In addition to Toronto Police, teams from Peel, the RCMP, Halton and Toronto West and South Detention Centre took part. Toronto Police lost in the semi-final to the eventual winners, Toronto South Detention Centre. 

We look forward to this tournament every year.  With support from the Toronto Police Amateur Athletic Association we have made it a point to participate and contribute to this tournament and the cause every year. Members of our team take time out of their busy schedules and get to have fun and enjoy the camaraderie, and most importantly, support the family of our fallen colleague.

The Toronto team was made up of Detective Constable John De Sousa, Constables Andrew Clarke, Christopher Burgher, Lawrence Zimmerman, Esteban Iglesias, Ryan Munro, Ravinder Virdi and Court Officer Cesar Brito.

TPS crest watermark